Football Season 15 Part II

Image

We’ve already established what football season does to my midsection.  Now let’s discuss the 2-pronged attack that it takes to reverse these fat gains. It’s actually pretty simple: diet and exercise. Diet is the most important part of the 2 and professional bodybuilder Ernie Taylor said it best, “Sell yourself short on nutrition and you’re selling yourself short on maximizing your physique development.”

The biggest difference for me is that in the fall the only macronutrient I really count is protein. I’ll allow myself to eat much more fat and simple carbohydrates and not worry too drastically about it as long as I’m getting my 1.5 grams of protein per pound of body weight a day. In the winter and spring I pay much more mind to everything I consume. I know a lot of people like to  immediately cut carbs but when you see my workout plan tomorrow, you’ll know why that is not a  great idea for me.

In the very end I will go low carb but it’s only when I get 4-6 weeks out from when I want to look my best. If you goal is to be full go by June 1rst then do the last 4-6 weeks before that. This year my target date in June 22nd for my wedding so I will plan accordingly. The best way for me to explain is to give a few basic pointers that even average guys like myself can benefit from.

 

 -Eliminate unnatural sugar (high fructose corn syrup or any processed sugar)

-Try to make all carbs complex carbohydrates

-Try to eliminate “bad fats” fried foods or high fat pork or beef

-Start the day off with a balanced breakfast

-Eat as much organic or unprocessed foods as possible

-Drink lots of water; lay off soda, even diet soda

-Do not starve yourself

 

Sample Meals for a Day

 

Breakfast- 1 servings of plain oatmeal flavored with 1 tablespoon of smart balance light butter and 2 tablespoons of sugar free strawberry jam. 1 apple. Whey Isolate shake with 2 scoops of protein.

Lunch- 8oz of grilled chicken on a whole wheat tortilla with 2oz of 2% sharp cheddar, 1 tablespoon light sour cream, and 2 tablespoons of medium salsa. Side of green veggie of choice.

Dinner- 6-8oz of shrimp sautéed with onions, mushrooms, green bells, and a tomato basil marinara. Pour mixture on top of a bed of 1.5 servings of whole wheat linguine.

 

If anyone has any questions feel free to email me at 3rdAnd57@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

