As a fisherman this article intrigues me. There has to be a reason a predatory fish is moving this far out of its natural habitat. The obvious answer is looking for food but that doesn’t explain why. My guess is commercial fishing interfering with the natural aquatic food chain but I’m no marine biologist. I just love getting out on the water and catching fish. I fou d this article by GeorgiaBeforePeople pretty cool. This isn’t typical at all for my blog but I hope you enjoy.

GeorgiaBeforePeople

Not long ago, Noel Todd caught an 8 foot long, 368 pound bull shark in Shell Creek which is located in Valona, Georgia.  Shell Creek is a brackish stream not far from the coast, so it’s not shocking that a shark  might be found here.  However, bull sharks have been sighted 2500 miles up the Amazon River.  The North American inland shark-catching record was set in 1937 when 2 fishermen caught a bull shark in the Mississippi River next to Alton, Illinois.

Lapshark?

“Nearly comatose” bull shark discovered in Lake Pepin, Minnesota which is connected to the Mississippi River.  This is the lake where Laura Ingalls’ father (of Little House on the Prairie fame) used to fish.  Bull sharks are tropical to semi-tropical species, not well adapted to such cold waters.  I discovered 15 months after posting my article that this photo is an APRIL FOOLS JOKE.  I was fooled and I…

View original post 616 more words

Leave a Reply

