Lebron Should Play CFB After Retiring

As this story came across my SC feed it immediately grabbed my attention. In my opinion Lebron James is the best basketball player that’s ever lived (debatable I know). I won’t stop there. I think he is hands down the best athlete in sports. He is an absolute freak of nature at 6-8 250, great speed, agility, and I’m going on a limb to guess that he has good arm strength. He plays basketball with great vision and intelligence, both necessary attributes to play QB. I agree with Joe Theisman, he should give QB a run.

Here’s my twist on things. Lebron has made a fortune and the NFL is a brutal game. Not only that, adjusting to the NFL as a QB after never playing the position is probably too much to ask even for the best athlete in the world. Lebron went straight to the NBA from high school. He should have NCAA eligibility in football. He should go to college.

Do I have your attention now? The NFL is a pro style QB league. I think we can all agree that he is a dual threat QB. Can you imagine Lebron James in Gus Malzahn, Dan Mullen, or Urban Meyer’s offense. I theorize that in these offenses his athleticism could lesson the passing learning curve and he could be effectively immediately.

Lebron has all the fame, money, and respect an athlete could want. The only thing he missed in life was college. He has nothing left to prove professionally or financially. Nothing makes better sense for Lebron playing football than returning to college. If Lebron James running the spread option doesn’t give you the chills, you are either dead or not a football fan.

Here is ESPN News Services Release:

When Joe Theismann watches LeBron James play basketball, he sees a potential NFL quarterback.

The former Washington Redskins quarterback expressed his belief in telephone interviews to Fox Sports Florida on Saturday and to the NFL Network’s “NFL AM” show Tuesday.

“I would love to work him out and also serve as his agent. I’ll go wherever he wants this summer. He could play another four years in the NBA before seriously trying the NFL,” Theismann told Fox Sports Florida. “There are not a lot of 38- or 39-year-old basketball players, but there are 38- and 39-year-old quarterbacks, so there’s always time for him.”

Theismann on Tuesday told the NFL Network that his comment about serving as James’ agent was made “tongue-in-cheek” but he was sincere in his belief that the NBA superstar could play quarterback.

LeBron James’ passing skills could translate to the NFL, Joe Theismann believes.

“Who wouldn’t want to coach LeBron James? He’s the most physical specimen we have in professional sports,” he told the NFL Network. “He could do, I think, anything he wanted.”

Theismann said the biggest thing the NBA’s reigning MVP would have to work on is his footwork, which he said is the “most important element” to throwing the ball accurately at the NFL level. He also wonders whether James’ hands are too big to wrap around the football.

But there’s no doubt, Theismann said, that the 6-foot-8, 250-pound James has the mental toughness to play quarterback.

“He’s as mentally as tough a guy you’re going to find, which I think is the No. 1 prerequisite to play the position,” he told the NFL Network.

James played receiver for two seasons at St. Vincent-St. Mary High School. He was asked whether he could play quarterback after the Heat’s Game 1 victory over the Indiana Pacers last week.

“I have the ability,” James told reporters. “I can see and read plays. I study a lot, so I know defenses and things of that nature. So I would have been pretty good if I had decided to go for it.”

Leave a Reply

