Egg Bowl Move: I’m Not a Fan

By now everyone has heard that the Egg Bowl has moved back to Thanksgiving night. The announcement has lead to fan’s reactions from all sides of the spectrum. The first goal of moving the game back to ESPN had to be creating buzz and so far it’s done just that.

There are many positives I would like to hit on before I tell you why I don’t like it. This game will be a great television draw and will bring great exposure to both programs. A ton of free marketing and brand recognition is achieved with this move. Many fans have very find family memories of watching the game on Thanksgiving and now those can resume.

I would like to clarify that I’m a fan and speak from the fan perspective. I understand why this move makes sense to Stricklin and Bjork. Sometimes the smart move by athletic departments don’t align with the convenience of fans.

Now why I don’t like it:

-This leaves MSU with only 2 SEC Saturday home games. Not only are these Saturday SEC games what fans covet the most, so do recruits. That’s gives us only 2 opportunities to host recruits for visits for SEC games. They could come to Thursday games but with games of their own the next day, its usually not feasible. Many recruits wait until the end of the year before they rev up their visit schedule and we now have 1 Saturday home game in the last 7 weeks of the year.

-The week before we get Arkansas at War Memorial Stadium in Little Rock. Historically we struggle there mightily. Bielema is bringing smash mouth ball back to Arkansas and we get a short 4 day turnaround after what will be a ver physical road game. Ole Miss comes off a home game with Missouri which is much more favorable in my opinion.

-I just don’t want to do anything on Thanksgiving. I want to enjoy the day off with my family and eat too much Turkey. I want to nap all day in a glorious turkey coma without the nervous anticipation of the Egg Bowl in the back of my mind. It means you have to pack up quickly and travel after thanksgiving lunch. Even though I’m sure that’s what I’ll do, I don’t like it.

The first article I read about this was from The Cristil Method from ForWhomTheCowbellTolls. Great read and different take then mine

http://www.forwhomthecowbelltolls.com/football/2013/4/10/4208928/mississippi-state-ole-miss-bulldogs-rebels-football-egg-bowl-thanksgiving-day-2013

Another article I read from NBC Sports

This coming Thanksgiving, we’ll have yet another football-related item for which to be thankful. In a joint announcement Wednesday, Mississippi State and Ole Miss confirmed speculation that this year’s version of the annual Egg Bowl rivalry game will be played on Thanksgiving in Starkville. The game will kick-off at 7:30 p.m. ET on Thursday, Nov. 28; it had originally been scheduled for Saturday, Nov. 30.

2 thoughts on “Egg Bowl Move: I’m Not a Fan

  1. I don’t like it either, but I am even more pissed about the Kentucky game being moved to Thursday. At least the Egg Bowl will actually attract an audience. I bet no one outside the states of Mississippi and Kentucky will watch this game. Why doesn’t TSUN ever move one of their home games to Thursday? Answer: They’re not saps like we are. If playing on Thursday is so great, why are us, Vandy and Kentucky the only ones who ever do it?

Leave a comment